2018 DC Program

The TOMODACHI U.S.-Japan Youth Exchange Program is a two-way cultural exchange, which takes place in both DC and Japan. The first part of our 2018 program once again starts in Washington, DC (July 14-29). Our six Japanese student participants and their chaperone arrived from Japan on Saturday afternoon, July 14, and joined our six DC students and their chaperone at a dormitory on the campus of the George Washington University for a three-day residential stay to kick off this year’s program.

Here’s what we did in this year’s DC program:

WEEK ONE

Sun, July 15

Easy sightseeing on the National Mall
Welcome Orientation Program – part I

Mon, July 16

Orientation Program – part II, at American Councils, with Mya Fisher of US-Japan Council
Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting – Photojournalism Workshop
City Exploration by charter bus
Evening debrief

Tues, July 17

Slam Poetry Workshop, with Regie Cabico
Talk by Clarence Lusane, Chair of the Political Science Department, Howard University
Neighborhood Walk in Mt Pleasant and Lunch at El Pollo Sabroso
Visit to Carlos Rosario School, Harvard Street Campus
Follow-up Pulitzer Center Workshop

Wed, July 18

Tour of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture
Visit to Hung Tao Choy Mei Leadership Institute
Soul Food Buffet at Thurgood Marshall Center, followed by discussion on the African American experience with Rock Newman
Neighborhood walk in Shaw/U Street

Thurs, July 19

Visit to the Washington Post to meet with David Nakamura, White House correspondent
Presentation by Mary Murakami, Japanese American internee during World War II, and Al Goshi of the Japanese American Veterans Association
LearnServe International workshop on social entrepreneurship

Fri, July 20

Visit to the US Holocaust Memorial Museum
Walking tour of the Tidal Basin, MLK Memorial and other Mall landmarks
Evening activity: Hip hop classes at Words Beats & Life

Sat, July 21 – Sun, July 22  [WEEKEND OFF] 

WEEK TWO

Mon, July 23

Visit to Halcyon House, an incubator for social entrepreneurs in Georgetown
Community service activity: Teach Japanese culture to Walker-Jones Education Campus students

Tues, July 24

Free Minds Book Club & Writing Workshop
Briefing on current US-Japan Relations at Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
Career Panel: The US-Japan Relationship at Toyota Washington office

Wed, July 25

Quilting workshop with Jacqueline Corbin-Armstrong
Meeting with Andy Shallal at Busboys & Poets, and poetry reading with Regie Cabico

Thurs, July 26

Prepare final presentation
Final presentation

Fri, July 27

Free Day

Sat, July 28

Depart for Baltimore in the evening for return flight to Japan the following day.