2013 Japan Program

These are the highlights of Part II of the U.S. Japan Youth Exchange Program in Japan in November 2013. Check out our Student Blog for more information about what actually went on and what we learned.

Week One:

Sun, November 3
Meet staff of Akira Foundation
Tour of the Skytree Tower and Tokyo Soramachi

Mon, November 4
Tour of the Ueno district

Tues, November 5
Reception Party hosted by Akira Foundation and US-Japan Council
Tour the Asakusa district with the Keio SFC students

Wed, November 6
Orientation and Presentation hosted by TOMODACHI and Akira Foundation staff
Tour of Harajuku district

Thurs, November 7
Tour the Imperial Palace in Tokyo
Tour the Edo-Tokyo Museum

Fri, November 8
TOMODACHI Session at US Embassy
Seminar and Workshop at Keio Shonan Fukisawa Innovation Village (SFC)
DC students move to host families

Sat, November 9
Keio Shonan Fumisawa High School Festival

Sun, November 10
All Day Excursion to Enoshima Island and Kamakura, Kanagawa

Week Two:

Mon, November 11
Workshop at the Tokyo Volunteer Action Center – with Soup Association
Presentation: “Volunteer” Works at Tokyo and the Social Responsibility of Non-Profit Organizations”
Presentation: “Support and Assistance to Homeless People – Those Living on the Streets”
Fieldwork with homeless individuals (with Keio students) around Nishi-Shinjuku, Tokyo

Tues, November 12
Visit to Keio University, SFC Campus and GIGA (Global Information and Communication Technology and Governance Academic) Program
Participate in Policy Management class
Campus Tour
Lecture on Computer-Aided Design
Discussion of US-Japan Relations

Wed, November 13
Participate in classes with students at Keio SFC High School
Take a Shamisen class

Thurs, November 14
Participate in classes with students at Keio SFC High School
Join club activities in Tea Ceremony and Karuta
Early dinner (Okonomiyaki) at Shonandai

Fri, November 15
Presentation by Global Compact Network Japan and Kirin Brewery
Presentation by Dr. Marcy Wilder, Fisheries Division, JIRCAS
Visit Kameido Factory and make donuts
Visit and Workshop at IDEO in Omotesando

Sat, November 16
Participate in morning classes with students at Keio SFC High School

Sun, November 17
Travel to Tohoku

Week Three:

Mon, November 18
Visit Tohoku University
Tour Minami-Sanriku Cho
Arrive at San3kan
Kataribe by Yuuri Tabata, President of Mazumotte and TOMODACHI alumnus

Tues, November 19
Fishing experience at Tsunomiya fish port, Minami-Sanriku
Seminar and workshop on fishery with local fishermen
Travel to Sendai

Wed, November 20
Presentation and workshop at SEELS in Sendai, Tohoku
Presentation at Kids’ Door and Role Play
Participate in an after-school study support program at Takasago JHS

Thurs, November 21
Tour of Watari-cho
Presentation at Watalis and Workshop
Travel back to Tokyo

Fri, November 22
Visit and Presentation at American Field Service Japan
Workshop, “Problem Solving,” hosted by J-Seed Ventures (Jeff Char)
Students prepare presentations in teams
Presentation at NTT DOCOMO Ventures

Sat, November 23
Depart from Narita Airport for Washington, DC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *