2013 DC Program

These are the highlights of Part I of the U.S. Japan Youth Exchange Program in DC in summer 2013. Check out our Student Blog and The Big Ideas for more information about what actually went on and what we learned.

Week One:

Mon, July 22
Welcome Orientation Program at American Councils
City Exploration by Charter Bus

Tues, July 23   
Day in Alexandria – Visit to United Way
Evening Reception at the Old Japanese Ambassador’s Residence (in honor of the Tomodachi Program)

Wed, July 24
U.S.-Japan Council Presentation on the Japanese American Experience
Meeting with Congressman Mike Honda
Tour of the US Capitol
Visit to the Japanese-American Memorial
Visit to the Smithsonian Air & Space Museum

Thurs, July 25   
US Holocaust Memorial Museum
Walk to Tidal Basin and the MLK Memorial
Presentation by Dan Davidson, President of American Councils

Fri, July 26  
Panel on US-Japan Relations
Program at the Latin American Youth Center

Week Two:

Mon, July 29
Exploration of the National Mall (Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, Smithsonian)
Visit to DC Central Kitchen

Tues, July 30 
Sustainable DC Briefing
Visit to Martha’s Table
Visit to Busboys and Poets

Wed, July 31           
Visit to Catholic University School of Architecture
Visit to Mundo Verde Public Charter School
Visit to Words Beats & Life

Thurs, Aug 1
LearnServe International Workshop on Social Entrepreneurship
Ellington School of the Arts Program – Quilting Project

Fri, Aug 2     
Work on culminating project
Reception at the residence of the Japanese Ambassador in honor of the JET Program)

Week Three:

Mon, Aug 5  
Prepare for Final Presentation

Tues, Aug 6 
Student Presentation with Program Partners and Host Families
Japanese students depart for New York City

 

                 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *